NEW HAMPSHIRE
2010
MEALS & RENTALS 
TAX BOOKLET
RSA 78-A - REV 700
This booklet contains the following New Hampshire state 
tax forms and instructions necessary for the monthly and 
seasonal filing of the Meals & Rentals Tax (M&R).
www.nh.gov/revenue
Rev. 09/2009
NOTE: You may be required to file additional New Hampshire business tax returns if your gross business 
income exceeds $50,000. See page 9 for details on Business Profits Tax and Business Enterprise Tax or call 
Central Taxpayer Services at (603) 271-2191.
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NEW HAMPSHIRE DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE ADMINISTRATION
MEALS & RENTALS TAX BOOKLET
GENERAL INFORMATION
M&R
General Info
Rev. 9/2009
FORM
M&R
General Information
M&R TAX LICENSE REQUIREMENT
The Meals & Rentals Tax is a tax assessed upon the patrons of hotels, 
restaurants and renters of motor vehicles and campsites based on the 
rents charged and upon meals and/or alcohol costing $.36 or more. A
Meals & Rentals tax operator's license is required by anyone engaging 
in business activities as defined in RSA 78-A. Questions concerning 
licensing requirements should be directed to the Department by calling 
(603) 271-2191.
WHO MUST FILE
Every operator having a New Hampshire Meals & Rentals Tax license 
must file a Meals & Rentals Tax return. Operators must report
monthly, even when no tax is due. Approved seasonal operators must
file returns for each month of their approved season.
WORK-SHEET
Every operator is required to complete the worksheet monthly. Operators
filing by E-FILE shall print a hard copy monthly. All records, including the 
worksheet, shall be retained for a minimum of three years from the due 
date of the tax or the date the return was filed, whichever is later.
ELECTRONIC FILING
To report the Meals & Rentals Tax information electronically, the operator
can use either the TELEFILE or the E-FILE options explained below.
When an operator E-files or telefiles a return the system will request 
the federal employer identification number or social security number as 
a security check. The system will then allow the operator to create a 
personal identification number (PIN).
ELECTRONIC PAYMENTS
For each Meals & Rentals operator filing electronically, the operator shall
enter his/her banking information while e-filing or telefiling a return. This 
ACH Debit Authorization allows the Department to electronically process
the payment of tax due from the account specified by the operator. This 
ACH Debit Authorization remains in effect until the operator changes it 
via E-file or Telefile.
TELEFILE
• After completing the worksheet contained in this booklet, the
TELEFILE system may be accessed by dialing 1-800-328-4557
from a touch-tone telephone 24 hours a day, 7 days a week. 
Listen carefully to the prompts, then make your selection. 
• The automated system will prompt the operator to provide their
license number and PIN prior to entering certain tax information
from the prepared worksheet. 
• After entering your license number and PIN, you will have the
opportunity to 1) file your return; 2) create or change your bank 
information 3) create or change your PIN; 4) delete a previously
filed transaction up to 2:00 pm the day before the due date of 
the transaction or any combinaton of the four options.
• The TELEFILE system will provide step-by-step instructions on
filing your return. If at any time during the filing process you do
not hear the instructions, wait a few seconds and TELEFILE 
will repeat them to you. You will have several opportunities to 
enter the requested entry prior to having the call disconnected. 
• Once the tax informaton has been entered and verified,
TELEFILE will issue a ten (10) digit confirmation number as a
record of the filing transaction.
• The operator should write this confirmation number on Line 22 of
the worksheet. Questions concerning the TELEFILE or E-FILE
systems may be directed to (603) 271-2191, Monday - Friday, 
8:00 am - 4:30 pm. 
VERIFYING CORRECT INFORMATION
After each item of tax information has been entered, TELEFILE will 
repeat the information and will request you to acknowledge the accuracy 
of the entry.
TELEFILE EXAMPLE: "You have entered Three Thousand One
Hundred Ninety Seven Dollars. Press 1 if correct or press 2 to re-
enter". If the entry should be 2197 instead of 3197, you would press 2. 
TELEFILE will again instruct you to enter the information and verify the 
amount. No more than three (3) attempts to enter the same entry will 
be allowed. If this occurs, the TELEFILE system will disconnect the call. 
If you are disconnected, please call (603) 271-2191.
VERIFYING BANK INFORMATION
The Telefile System will ask you to verify the last 4 digits of your bank 
account prior to issuing a confirmation number. Make sure the numbers 
match.
E-FILE
Operators may file via the internet by using their telefile PIN or by
creating a new PIN. The E-FILE program will prompt the user to enter 
necessary tax information and, upon completion, will automatically
transmit the information to the New Hampshire Department of
Revenue Administration. The E-FILE program is available through the 
Department's web site www.nh.gov/revenue. E-File help instructions 
and help screens are available on-line to assist you.
E-FILE DRA
• Access the Department's web site www.nh.gov/revenue, select
E-FILE DRA, and then select "Meals & Rentals Tax" and follow 
the prompts.
• When you have completed and verified all return entries you are
ready to transmit your return and payment. 
• Upon completion of the transaction you will receive notification 
of your successful filing.
• Once confirmation has been received, you must print a copy of 
the filing to maintain in your records.
CHANGING THE PIN NUMBER / BANKING INFORMATION
You can create or change your personal identification number (PIN) 
and/ or your banking information at the time you file a return using the 
e-file system or the telefile system. Follow the instructions carefully. The
changes you make will remain in effect until you change them. You may 
access e-file at www.nh.gov/revenue or telefile at 1-800-328-4557.
ENTERING DOLLAR AMOUNTS
When filing returns and estimates, all dollar amounts must
be entered on the E-FILE AND TELEFILE Systems in WHOLE
DOLLARS. DO NOT ENTER CENTS. For each telefile entry which 
requires a dollar amount, you will be asked to enter the pound sign (#) 
once you have completely entered any dollar amount. The pound sign 
(#) may be found just below the number 9 of your touch-tone telephone 
keypad. For example, an operator reporting a meals tax of $3,197.24 
would enter as follows: TELEFILE: "Enter the total meals tax. Enter 
this amount followed by the pound key (#), now." M&R FILER enters: 
"3197 #"
CONFIRMATION NUMBER
A 10-digit confirmation number will be provided at the conclusion of 
all TELEFILE and E-FILE transactions. This confirmation number will 
provide a record of the electronic filing transaction and should be retained
in the operator's records. (Note: A space has been provided to record 
this item on Line 22 of the worksheet contained within this booklet.)
AMENDED & FINAL RETURNS
You may not file amended or final returns through TELEFILE. 
Amended returns may be filed by E-file or paper by using the Meals & 
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NOTE: All Meals & Rentals operators reporting receipts and tax at a blended rate (receipts taxed at 
8% and 9%) should file using the TELEFILE system. Add tax collected at 8% and tax collected at 9% 
together and enter on the appropriate line using the telephone keypad.
Rentals Tax Return (DP-14) contained in this booklet. If filing a final 
Meals & Rentals Tax Return, you must file a paper return and your 
Meals & Rentals Tax License must be returned to the Department. If 
you need additional forms, you may access them on our web site at 
www.nh.gov/revenue, you may copy those found in this booklet or call 
(603) 271-2192. Questions concerning amended or final returns may 
be directed to (603) 271-2191.
WHEN TO FILE AND PAY TAX
E-File or Telefile returns filed timely will not have the payment, which is
on Line 20 of the worksheet, deducted from their bank account until the 
next business day after the return due date (generally the 16th of each 
month). E-file or Telefile payments for late filed returns will be deducted 
on the next business day following the day the return was filed. You 
may access the TELEFILE and E-FILE systems 24 hours a day, 7 days 
a week. E-File or Telefile returns will be considered timely filed when a 
confirmation number is received by the TELEFILE or E-FILE system prior
to 12:00 midnight on the date due. Paper returns must be received 
by the Department no later than the due date. The postmark on 
your envelope does not constitute a timely filed return.
INTEREST AND PENALTIES
Interest and penalties will be charged on all late filed and late paid 
returns. For assistance in calculating interest and penalties see
instructions. Payments are applied in accordance with Rev 2903.05.
ELIGIBILITY REQUIREMENTS FOR 3% COMMISSION AND PAPER
RETURNS
Per RSA 78-A:7,III operators are permitted to take a commission equal 
to 3% of the tax due if they meet all of the following requirements: (1) 
keep the prescribed records, (2) file the return timely, (3) pay the tax 
due timely and (4) follow the appropriate method of filing.
Operators may elect to file paper returns rather than file electronically; 
however, this election will result in the loss of the 3% commission, 
if taxable revenue was equal to or greater than $25,000 in the prior 
calendar year. Operators are reminded to self-monitor their gross
receipts to avoid loss of their commission and assessment of applicable 
penalties.
Failure to keep adequate records will result in the loss of any 3%
commissions taken, the assessment of a 10%, 25% or 50% penalty 
on any additional tax due and/or the suspension/revocation of the
operator's license.
CONSOLIDATED REPORTING
Operators having more than one license may request permission in 
writing to file on a consolidated basis provided all licenses use the same 
federal employer identification number. The request to the Department 
shall include the following:
Operator's designation of one license number to be the master 
• 
license number;
Business name and each license number for each member of the 
• 
consolidated group;
Address for each license; and
• 
Astatement that the operator agrees to the requirements of Rev 704.
• 
To qualify for consolidated reporting the operator agrees:
To notify the Department, in writing, of any additions or deletions to 
• 
the consolidated group within ten (10) days of any change;
To continue to use the designated master license number unless 
• 
written approval has been granted to change the designation;
To keep records readily available which show activity by month for 
• 
each individual license;
To permit the Department to make an assessment against and 
• 
collect from the master license for any member of the consolidated 
group when the records required in (c) are not made available; 
and
If the consolidated return is late or the payment is late, then
• 
interest and penalties shall be applied as if individual returns had 
been filed.
QUARTERLY FILERS
Any operator who has been in business for a full year whose year-round 
business has an average monthly tax liability of less than $100 per 
month may request in writing to file quarterly returns. For additional 
information, please call (603) 271-2191.
SEASONAL FILERS
Any operator whose business is not open year round may request in 
writing to file only for the months operated during the year provided 
the filing months are consecutive. Operators previously approved
for seasonal filing need NOT reapply each year unless their season 
changes. For additional information, please call (603) 271-2191.
ENTITY CHANGE
Entity changes in businesses require a new license, Form CD-3. This 
information must include the complete name, address, telephone, title 
and social security number of each new owner.
UPDATES & CHANGES
Operators must complete and file the Form CD-100 and submit it to 
the Department any time there is an address change, name change, 
ownership change or change in sale of taxable items.
NEED FORMS?
To obtain additional forms or forms not contained in this booklet, please 
call (603) 271-2192. Copies of the state tax forms may also be obtained 
from our web site at www.nh.gov/revenue or by visiting any of the 21 
Depository Libraries located throughout the state. 
NEED HELP?
Call (603) 271-2191, Monday through Friday, 8:00 am to 4:30 pm. All 
written correspondence to the Department should include the operator 
name, license number, tax period, the name of a contact person and 
a daytime telephone number and should be sent to New Hampshire 
Department of Revenue Administration, PO Box 454, Concord, NH
03302-0454. Individuals with hearing or speech impairments may call 
TDD access: Relay NH 1-800-735-2964.
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NEW HAMPSHIRE DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE ADMINISTRATION
MEALS & RENTALS TAX WORKSHEET
LINE-BY-LINE TELEFILE INSTRUCTIONS
M&R Instructions
Rev. 9/2009
FORM
M&R
Instructions
Prior to filing a return, all licensed operators must complete the
WORKSHEET found in this booklet. This worksheet will provide an 
historical record of the Meals & Rentals Tax reported by your business 
each month during the year. The worksheet is to be maintained with your 
records for three (3) years from the due date of tax or date the return is 
filed, whichever is later. When using E-File, follow the instructions 
on the screen.
The shaded lines on this instruction page and those found on the 
Meals & Rentals Tax worksheet are the ONLY entries which the 
Telefile system will request you to enter or verify when filing your 
return. Enter ONLY the requested items. DO NOT ENTER YOUR 
GROSS SALES RECEIPTS ON TELEFILE. If you have questions 
regarding these entries, call (603) 271-2191.
ENTER your business name on the line in the upper left corner of the 
worksheet.
ENTER your six (6) digit Meals & Rentals Tax license number in the block 
located in the upper left corner of the worksheet.
DO NOT ENTER your personal identification number (PIN) on the
worksheet. The PIN is necessary for filing your return on the TELEFILE 
and/or the E-FILE system: however, this number should not be disclosed 
to anyone except those persons specifically authorized to act on your 
behalf.
RECEIPTS FROM MEALS & BEVERAGES
LINE 1: Enter the net receipts/net sales for the period for items sold if 
the tax is not included in the price of the item sold.
LINE 2: Multiply Line 1 x .09 and Enter on Line 2.
LINE 3: Enter the gross receipts/gross sales for the period for items if 
the tax is included in the price of the item sold.
LINE 4: Multiply Line 3 x .0826 and Enter on Line 4.
LINE 5: Enter the TOTAL MEALS TAX, Line 2 plus Line 4. Round to 
the nearest dollar and ENTER WHOLE DOLLARS ONLY.
Receipts from Rentals - See RSA 78-A:3, III for a list of taxable 
accommodations.
LINE 6: Enter the total room rental receipts minus any tax-exempt 
amount described on Line 21. Effective 7/1/2009, campsites are 
included as taxable rentals.
LINE 7: Enter permanent resident receipts. (Receipts received from 
occupants having greater than 185 days of continuous occupancy are 
not subject to the Meals & Rentals Tax.)
LINE 8: Enter the taxable room rental receipts, Line 6 minus Line 7.
LINE 9: Enter the TOTAL ROOM RENTAL TAX. Check the rate which 
applies. Line 8 x rate, .09 if tax excluded or .0826 if tax included. Round 
to the nearest dollar and ENTER WHOLE DOLLARS ONLY.
LINE 10: Enter the total motor vehicle rental receipts.
LINE 11: Enter the TOTAL MOTOR VEHICLE RENTAL TAX. Check the
rate which applies. Line 10 x rate, .09 if tax excluded or .0826 if tax included.
Round to the nearest dollar and ENTER WHOLE DOLLARS ONLY.
LINE 12: Enter the total amount of tax, by adding Line 5 plus Line 9 plus 
Line 11 to calculate the total amount of the tax.
NOTE: Operators who substantially understate their tax on Line 
12 may be assessed a penalty by the Department in the amount of 
25% of any underpayment of the tax. A substantial understatement 
is one which exceeds the greater of 10% of the amount of tax (Line 
12) or $5,000.
Deductions and Additions Commission of 3% may be taken by operators
who timely file in accordance with RSA 78-A:8. Commission MAY NOT
be deducted by an operator not meeting the requirements of RSA78-A:7, 
III. (See eligibility requirements for 3% commission and paper returns 
in General Instructions.)
Deductions:
LINE 13: Multiply Line 12 x .03 and Enter total on Line 13.
LINE 14: Enter payments made in advance of the due date for the 
current tax period or for any Credit Memo you have received from the 
Department.
LINE 15: Enter total deductions, Line 13 plus Line 14.
Additions:
LINE 16: Tax due not timely paid shall have interest at a rate of 6% per 
annum for returns due in the year 2010. The interest is calculated on 
the balance of tax due from the original due date to the date paid.
Multiply the number of days late x .000164 by the net tax due. Enter
this amount on Line 16. Example: To calculate interest on a return 
15 days late with a tax due of $500, see below.
15 days late x .000164 = .00288 x $500 = $1.23 interest due
LINE 17: Tax due not timely paid may have a penalty for failure to pay 
imposed. A penalty equal to 10% of any nonpayment or underpayment 
of taxes shall be imposed if the operator fails to pay when due. If the 
failure to pay is due to fraud, the penalty shall be 50% of the amount of 
the nonpayment or underpayment. 
Multiply the Net Tax Due (Line 12 minus Line 15) by 10% and Enter on 
Line 17. Example: To calculate the 10% penalty for failure to pay 
on $500 tax, see below.
$500 x .10 penalty for failure to pay = $50 penalty due
LINE 18: An operator failing to timely file a complete return may be subject
to a penalty for failure to file equal to 5% of the tax due or $10, whichever 
is greater, for each month or part thereof that the return remains unfiled 
or incomplete. The total amount of this penalty shall not exceed 25% of 
the balance of the tax due or $50, whichever is greater. Calculate this 
penalty starting from the original due date of the return until the date a 
complete return has been filed.
Multiply the Net Tax Due (Line 12 minus Line 15) by the percentage which
applies and Enter the penalty for failure to file on Line 18. 
Example: To calculate the penalty for failure to file, see below.
Tax 
is:
Due 
date:
When 
filed:
Failure to file penalty due:
$500
1/15
1/16 - 2/15
$25 (tax x 5%) or $10 
whichever is greater
$500
1/15
2/16 - 
3/15*
$50 (tax x 10%) or $20 
whichever is greater
$500
1/15
3/16 - 4/15
$75 (tax x 15%) or $30 
whichever is greater
$500
1/15
4/16 - 5/15
$100 (tax x 20%) or $40 
whichever is greater
$500
1/15
on or after 
5/16
$125 (tax x 25%) or $50 
whichever is greater
* If the return is due on 1/15 and filed on 2/16, the penalty is calculated at 
10%: 5% for the first month, (1/16-2/15) and an additional 5% for each 
subsequent month or part of the second month not to exceed 25% of the 
balance of the tax due or $50, whichever is greater.
LINE 19 Enter the sum of Lines 16, 17 and 18.
LINE 20: Enter the TOTAL PAYMENT DUE, Line 12 minus Line 15 plus 
Line 19. Round to the nearest dollar and ENTER WHOLE DOLLARS 
ONLY. The amount entered here is the amount to be deducted from the 
account you have authorized for this purpose.
NOTE: For operators filing a paper return, Form DP-14, enclose a check 
payable to the State of New Hampshire for the amount shown on Line 
20. If less than $1.00 do not pay but still file the return.
Telefile and e-file returns filed timely will have the payment, on Line 20, 
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deducted from the operator's designated account the next business day 
AFTER THE RETURN DUE DATE (commonly on the 16th of the month). 
Telefile and e-file payments for late filed returns will be deducted the NEXT
BUSINESS DAY following the day the return was filed.
LINE 21: Enter the total Meals and Rentals receipts which are exempt from
taxation. For example: federal, NH state and NH municipal employees 
on government business and having the proper documentation may be 
exempt from the payment of this tax. For further clarification, contact 
the Department at (603)271-2191. Do not include permanent resident 
receipts on this line.
LINE 22: Telefilers should enter the 10 digit confirmation number assigned
by the Telefile System at the conclusion of your filing. This number is an 
important record of your Telefile transaction and will be requested should 
any research of your electronic filing be required. Enter this number on 
your worksheet in the block under the corresponding tax period. E-filers 
should print a copy of their confirmation prior to exiting the E-FILE system.
Telefilers and e-filers must continue to the end of the program to complete
transaction and receive a confirmation number.
IF YOU DID NOT RECEIVE A CONFIRMATION NUMBER, YOUR
TRANSACTION DID NOT TRANSMIT TO THE DEPARTMENT.
FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTIONS
ARE NON-PROFITS EXEMPT FROM THE MEALS & RENTALS TAX?
No organizaton, including non-profit organizations, are exempt from the 
Meals and Rentals Tax. However, there are limited exemptions for the 
following:
a. Meals and Rentals charges incurred in the course of official
business by federal government employees, New Hampshire
state, county or municipal employees. The operator must receive
a purchase order from the governmental entity and payment from
the government's treasurer or through a government authorized 
credit card.
b. Persons possessing diplomatic tax exempt cards issued by the
US Department of State.
c. Rents incurred as the result of the partial or complete
destruction of a person's permanent residence.
d. Meals paid for with food stamps/coupons.
e. Some schools and students.
If you have any questions about tax exempt sales, please call the
Department at (603) 271-2191. The State of New Hampshire does not 
issue Meals & Rentals Tax exempt certificates.
WHAT RECORDS DO I NEED TO KEEP AND FOR HOW LONG? 
Keep all records used to record and report your Meals & Rentals Tax for
three (3) years from the due date of the tax or the date the return was
filed, whichever is later. This includes the telefile worksheet, e-file screen 
prints, cash receipts journals, cash disbursement journals, general
ledgers, payroll records, complete cash register tapes, guest checks 
and registration cards, bank statements with all enclosures and any 
other source document used in your accounting records. If you sell both 
taxable and non-taxable items, you must maintain records which justify 
the non-taxable sales.
WHAT CHARGES ASSOCIATED WITH AUTOMOBILE RENTALS
ARE TAXABLE?
All charges included in the rental agreement are taxable including
but not limited to airport fees, drop off fees and under age fees. The 
following items are not subject to the tax when separately stated in the 
agreement. Example:
a. Charges for fuel
b. Charges for insurance
c. Charges for damages
If the motor vehicle lease or rental agreement does not exceed 180 consecutive
days, the lease or rental is subject to the Meals and Rentals Tax.
WHEN IS LONG TERM ROOM RENTAL SUBJECT TO THE MEALS &
RENTALS TAX?
Tax must be collected on all room rentals of less than 185 consecutive 
days. When a patron reaches the 185th consecutive day of occupancy, 
the operator must refund to the patron the tax monies that have been 
collected. The operator must then send to the Department verification 
of the refund (a copy of the canceled check or a signed statement from 
the patron that he/she has received the refund) along with documentation
supporting the length of occupancy to the Audit Division PO Box 457, 
Concord, NH 03302-0457. The Department will then issue a credit memo.
Once the credit memo is received, the operator may use it to reduce a 
subsequent tax payment. The credit memo amount should be entered 
on Line 14 of the Meals & Rentals Tax worksheet. Note: Operators may 
not utilize any credit amount until they have received a credit memo from 
the Department. Operators should utilize the amount of the most recent 
credit memo they have received as the total is cumulative.
WHERE CAN I GET A COPY OF THE MEALS & RENTALS TAX LAW
AND RULES?
The Meals & Rentals Tax law (RSA 78-A) and Administrative Rules
(Chapter 700) are available for free through the Department's web site 
on the internet at www.nh.gov/revenue, or copies can be made for a 
fee by visiting the New Hampshire State Library or any New Hampshire 
Depository Library.
DO I NEED A SEPARATE LICENSE FOR CATERING?
Yes, a license is required for each fixed location where meals are regularly
served and a separate license where meals are occasionally served 
for events such as, but not limited to: banquets, weddings, barbecues, 
outings, picnics, private homes, etc.
HOW ARE BAKERY PRODUCTS TAXED? 
All bakery products sold in quantities of less than six from a restaurant are
taxable. Abakery is classified as a restaurant when it offers other taxable 
items for sale such as, but not limited to, coffee, soda, sandwiches, salads
from the salad bar, and/or prepared foods. The taxability of bakery 
products is not affected by whether the bakery product is served to be 
eaten on premise or on a "to go" basis.
HOW SHOULD I HANDLE COUPONS AND DISCOUNT SALES?
The tax should be applied to the sale amount after the discount or coupon
reduction has been taken.
ARE GRATUITIES AND SERVICE CHARGES TAXED? 
Mandatory gratuity and service charges added to the charge for a meal 
or room may be taxed in certain circumstances. See RSA 78-A:6-a for 
more information.
ARE PARTY PLATTERS TAXABLE EVEN IF I AM NOT SERVING?
Yes, party platters such as, but not limited to, vegetable, meat, dessert, 
fruit, and hors-d' oeuvres, are taxable whether delivered, picked up, 
served or not.
ARE FUNCTION ROOM RENTALS TAXABLE?
Yes, any type of room rental in a hotel (or any facility with sleeping 
accommodations) is subject to the tax.
DO I NEED TO FILE A RETURN EVERY MONTH EVEN IF I HAVE NO
ACTIVITY?
Yes, you must file a return even if you have had no activity during your 
scheduled reporting periods.
These questions are not intended to be inclusive of every situation. If 
you have any questions regarding the taxability of any product or rental, 
please contact the Department at (603) 271-2191.
NEW HAMPSHIRE DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE ADMINISTRATION
MEALS & RENTALS TAX WORKSHEET
LINE-BY-LINE TELEFILE INSTRUCTIONS
FORM
M&R
Instructions
M&R Instructions
Rev. 9/2009
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STATE OF NEW HAMPSHIRE
LICENSE NUMBER
BUSINESS NAME
Filing due date
For the month of 
Enter PIN on Telefile or E-File
PIN 
RECEIPTS FROM MEALS AND BEVERAGES
TOTAL PAYMENT DUE
(Line 12 minus Line 15 plus Line 19)
Interest (See instructions)
Penalty for Failure to Pay (See instructions)
TOTAL ADDITIONS (Sum of Lines 16, 17 & 18)
Penalty for Failure to File (See instructions)
TOTAL DEDUCTIONS (Line 13 plus Line 14)
Commission (Line 12 multiplied by .03) See 
3% commission requirement in General 
Instructions.
TAX EXEMPT MEALS & 
RENTALS RECEIPTS (See instructions)
CONFIRMATION NUMBER
__ __ __ __ __
__ __ __ __ __
__ __ __ __ __ __ __ __ __ __
__ __ __ __ __
__ __ __ __ __ __ __ __ __ __
__ __ __ __ __ __ __ __ __ __
Tax Excluded Receipts
Meals Tax @ 9% (Line 1 multiplied by .09)
Meals Tax @ 8.26% (Line 3 multiplied by .0826)
TOTAL MEALS TAX (Line 2 plus Line 4)
RECEIPTS FROM RENTALS
Motor Vehicle Rental Receipts
TOTAL TAX (Line 5 plus Line 9 plus Line 11)
Permanent Resident Receipts
Room Rental Receipts
Check rate used.
Line 8 multiplied by .09 or .0826 if tax included.
TOTAL MOTOR VEHICLE RENTAL TAX. 
Check rate used. Line 10 x rate, .09 if tax 
excluded, .0826 if tax included. Round 
to nearest dollar. 
11
10
9
8
7
6
5
4
2
1
12
DEDUCTIONS AND ADDITIONS
Advanced Payment or Credit Memo
20
19
18
16
17
15
14
13
21
22
THIS WORKSHEET MUST BE COMPLETED PRIOR TO FILING THE NH MEALS & RENTALS RETURN
Taxable Room Rental Receipts 
Line 6 minus Line 7
TOTAL ROOM RENTAL TAX
April
March
February
January
Tax Included Receipts
January
02/15/2010
February
03/15/2010
March
04/15/2010
April
05/17/2010
May
06/15/2010
THE TELEFILE SYSTEM WILL PROVIDE A 10 DIGIT CONFIRMATION NUMBER TO VERIFY THE 
DP-14-WS
Worksheet, Page 1 of 2 
Rev 09/2009
Payment authorized on Line 20 will be debited from your account the next business day after the filing due date 
__ __ __ __ __
May
.09
.0826
3
Note:
(This is the Operator's six digit License number, not FEIN or SSN)
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2010
MEALS & RENTALS TAX WORKSHEET
RECEIPTS FROM MEALS AND BEVERAGES
__ __ __ __ __ __ __ __ __ __ __ __ __ __ __ __ __ __ __ __ __ __ __ __ __ __ __ __ __ __ __ __ __ __ __
__ __ __ __ __ __ __ __ __ __ __ __ __ __ __ __ __ __ __ __ __ __ __ __ __ __ __ __ __ __ __ __ __ __ __ 
1
2
3
4
5
RECEIPTS FROM RENTALS
6
7
8
9
DEDUCTIONS AND ADDITIONS
10
11
12
AND MUST BE RETAINED FOR THREE YEARS FROM THE DUE DATE OF THE TAX OR THE DATE THE RETURN IS FILED WHICHEVER IS LATER.
Telefile Telephone Number 1-800-328-4557
E-File at www.nh.gov/revenue
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
TRANSACTION. ENTER THE NUMBER IN THE APPROPRIATE SPACE BELOW. 
08/16/2010
07/15/2010
09/15/2010
10/15/2010
11/15/2010
12/15/2010
July
June
August
September
October
November
01/18/2011
December
TOTAL
2010
2010
June
July
August
September
October
November
December
DP-14-WS
Worksheet, Page 2 of 2 
Rev 09/2009
above if the return is timely filed and on the next business day following the date the return was filed for late filed return.
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NEW HAMPSHIRE DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE ADMINISTRATION
MEALS & RENTALS TAX BOOKLET
WORKSHEET SAMPLE
M&R 
Worksheet Sample
Rev. 9/2009
FORM
M&R
Worksheet Sample
LICENSE NUMBER
BUSINESS NAME
Filing due date
For the month of
Enter PIN on Telefile or E-file
PIN 
January
02/15/2010
TOTAL PAYMENT DUE
(Line 12 minus Line 15 plus Line 19)
Interest (See instructions)
Penalty for Failure to Pay (See instructions)
TOTAL ADDITIONS (Sum of Lines 16, 17 & 18)
Penalty for Failure to File (See instructions)
TOTAL DEDUCTIONS (Line 13 plus Line 14)
Commission (Line 12 multiplied by .03) See 
3% commission requirement in General 
Instructions.
TAX EXEMPT MEALS & 
RENTALS RECEIPTS (See instructions)
CONFIRMATION NUMBER
__ __ __ __ __
Tax Excluded Receipts
Meals Tax @ 9% (Line 1 multiplied by .09)
Meals Tax @ 8.26% (Line 3 multiplied by .0826)
TOTAL MEALS TAX (Line 2 plus Line 4)
RECEIPTS FROM RENTALS
Motor Vehicle Rental Receipts
TOTAL TAX (Line 5 plus Line 9 plus Line 11)
Permanent Resident Receipts
Room Rental Receipts
Check rate used.
Line 8 multiplied by .09 or .0826 if tax included.
TOTAL MOTOR VEHICLE RENTAL TAX. 
Check rate used. Line 10 x rate, .09 if tax 
excluded, .0826 if tax included. Round 
to nearest dollar. 
11
10
9
8
6
5
4
2
1
12
DEDUCTIONS AND ADDITIONS
Advanced Payment or Credit Memo
20
19
18
16
17
15
14
13
21
22
Taxable Room Rental Receipts 
Line 6 minus Line 7
TOTAL ROOM RENTAL TAX
January
Tax Included Receipts
__ __ __ __ __
.09
.0826
3
RECEIPTS FROM MEALS & BEVERAGES
X
X
1 1 1 1 1
1 1 1 1 1
27,000
2,430
14,000
1,156
3,586
10,100
100
10,000
900
5,000
450
4,936
148
0
148
0
0
0
0
4,788
0
NOTE: TELEFILE users will enter the 
bolded numbers on Lines 5, 9, 11 and 
20 on the TELEFILE system.
E-FILE users should follow instructions 
on E-FILE system.
Payment authorized on Line 20 will be debited from your account the next business day after the filing due date
0 9 9 9 9 9
XYZ Hotel, Restaurant & Auto Rentals
COMMON ERROR: Do not enter 
these numbers into telefile.
Enter on telefile 
Enter on telefile
Enter on telefile
Enter on telefile
NOTE: If you do not receive a confirmation number from
either telefile or e-file, your transaction did not transmit 
to the Department.
FOR EXAMPLE: 
XYZ Hotel, Restaurant and Auto Rental, License 
# 099999, a sample company, has the following 
sales in the month of January, 2009:
Net Receipts/Sales ..........................$27,000.00
(tax not included in sale price)
Gross Receipts/Sales ......................$14,000.00
(tax is included in sale price)
Room Rental Receipts.....................$10,100.00
Permanent Resident Receipts .........$ 100.00
Motor Vehicle Rental Receipts ........$ 5,000.00
Note: This is the operator's six digit license number, not FEIN or SSN.
7
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Meals & Rentals Operator's Tax Responsibilities
The most common taxes encountered by holders of Meals and Rentals licenses are the Meals and Rentals, the 
Business Profits and Business Enterprise Taxes. The following information regarding these taxes is meant to provide a broad 
overview of these taxes, and is not intended to detail all of your obligations as a taxpayer. For example, in addition to these 
taxes, some operators may be subject to the Interest and Dividends Tax or the Communications Services Tax, which are 
not discussed here. It should also be noted that the obligations and penalties described here apply only to operators who 
are natural persons; corporate entities may face other penalties for tax law violations. The Department strongly encourages 
all operators to seek additional information regarding their tax obligations. Operators may also find it helpful to obtain the 
advice of a tax professional. 
The Meals and Rentals Tax - RSA 78-A
The Meals and Rentals tax is an 9% tax assessed upon patrons of hotels and restaurants, and upon renters of motor 
vehicles, and campsites. The tax is paid by the consumer, and is collected by the operator of the business providing the 
food, alcohol, room, or motor vehicle to the consumer. Operators are legally obligated to collect the appropriate tax from the
patrons and to remit all taxes collected in accordance with RSA 78-A.
Operators must file a Meals and Rentals tax return and pay over the collected tax to the Department on a monthly 
basis. There are provisions for seasonal filings. The tax and the return must be paid to and filed with the Department on or 
before the 15th day of the month following the calendar month in which the tax was collected. For example, for taxes collected 
during the month of April, you must file a return and pay over those taxes to the Department by May 15. Operators who 
comply with the tax laws are permitted to retain 3% of the taxes. Those who fail to comply with the tax laws, however, are 
not entitled to retain any portion of the taxes collected, and face penalties for non-compliance. As with failing to collect the 
tax, it is a Class B Felony to fail to truthfully account for and pay over the appropriate tax to the Department. As an operator, 
you act as the conduit between the consumer and the State with regard to the Meals and Rentals tax. The money that you 
collect as Meals and Rentals tax does not lawfully belong to you. Accordingly, should you fail to pay over the collected tax 
to the State, you could also be charged with theft. Depending on the amount of money at issue, you could be convicted of 
a Class A Felony, which carries a maximum penalty of 7½ to 15 years in the New Hampshire State Prison, in addition to 
other criminal and civil penalties. 
Operators must file a return every month, regardless of whether they have had any activity during the previous month. 
Returns must be filed electronically, via touch-tone telephone or personal computer. You are permitted to file a paper 
return only if your taxable revenue for the previous calendar year was less than $25,000.
Recordkeeping/Retention - RSA 78-A:19 and Rev 706.01
Operators must maintain records for three (3) years. Revenue Rule 706.01 (d) provides that in the event the operator's 
records are not adequate to make an accounting to the state for the tax collection liability, the Department shall determine 
a liability based on the records available and deny the 3% commission available under RSA 78-A:7, III.
The Business Profits Tax - RSA 77-A
The business profits tax is imposed at a rate of 8.5% upon the taxable business profit of a business organization. 
Business organziations having in excess of $50,000 in gross business income during the taxable period are required to file 
business profits tax returns.
For businesses taxed federally as corporations, business profits tax returns are due on the 15th day of the 3rd month 
following the end of the taxable period. Sole proprietorships and entities treated as partnerships federally must file their 
business profits tax returns by the 15th day of the 4th month following the end of the taxable period. Non-profit organizations 
must file their returns by the 15th day of the 5th month following the end of the taxable period. 
The Business Enterprise Tax - RSA 77-E
A 0.75% tax, is imposed on the enterprise value tax base of every business enterprise. The enterprise value tax base 
is the sum of all compensation paid or accrued, interest paid or accrued, and dividends paid by the business, after special 
adjustments and apportionment. Business enterprises with more than $150,000 of gross business receipts during the taxable 
period, or an enterprise value tax base greater than $75,000, are required to file a return. 
Proprietorship, partnership and fiduciary returns are due on the 15th day of the 4th month following the end of the taxable 
period. Corporate returns are due on the 15th day of the 3rd month following the end of the taxable period. Non-profit returns 
are due on the 15th day of the 5th month following the end of the taxable period. 
FORM
M&R
NEW HAMPSHIRE DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE ADMINISTRATION
MEALS & RENTALS TAX BOOKLET
M&R
Rev. 9/2009
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10
SIGNATURE (IN INK) (Failure to sign may result in the assessment of penalties.)
PREPARER OTHER THAN OPERATOR 
DATE
TELEPHONE NUMBER 
DATE
PRINT PREPARER'S NAME & TAX IDENTIFICATION NUMBER 
PREPARER'S ADDRESS
CITY/TOWN, STATE, ZIP CODE
NEW HAMPSHIRE DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE ADMINISTRATION
MEALS & RENTALS TAX RETURN
BUSINESS NAME:
MAIL
TO:
NH DRA
DOCUMENT PROCESSING DIVISION
PO BOX 2035
CONCORD NH 03302-2035
Under penalties of perjury, I declare that I have examined this form and to the best of my belief it is true, correct and complete. 
If prepared by a person other than the operator, this declaration is based on all information of which the preparer has knowledge.
License Number
Tax Period (Mo/Yr)
RECEIPTS FROM RENTALS
21
20
19
18
17
16
15
14
13
12
11
10
9
8
7
6
5
4
3
2
1
RECEIPTS FROM MEALS AND BEVERAGES
1
Last Day of Business
IF THIS IS YOUR FINAL RETURN, FILE FORM CD-100 AND GIVE REASON:
Amended
Return
Business Discontinued
Change in Organization
Business Sold
3
2
DP-14
Rev. 9/2009
FORM
DP-14
051
MAKE SUFFICIENT COPIES FOR ALL YOUR FILING PERIODS BEFORE FILLING OUT THIS FORM.
FOR DRA USE ONLY
FOR DRA USE ONLY
Tax Excluded Receipts.................................................................................................
Meals Tax on gross receipts at 9% (Multiply Line 1 by .09)........................................
Tax Included Receipts..................................................................................................
Meals Tax at 8.26% (Multiply Line 3 by .0826).............................................................
Total Meals Tax (Line 2 plus Line 4)......................................................................................................................
Room Rental Receipts (eff. 7-1-2009 include campsites).............................................
Permanent Resident Receipts......................................................................................
Taxable Room Rental Receipts (Line 6 minus Line 7)...................................................
Total Room Rental Tax (Multiply Line 8 by .09 or .0826).....................Check rate used: .
Motor Vehicle Rental Receipts......................................................................................
Total Motor Vehicle Rental Tax (Multiply Line 10 by .09 or .0826)....Check rate used: 
Total Tax ( Line 5 plus Line 9 plus Line 11)................................................................
Commission (Line 12 multiplied by .03.) .......................................................................
Original Return Payment/Credit Memo/Estimated Payments.........................................
Total Deductions (Line 13 plus Line 14)...................................................................
Interest (See instructions)...........................................................................................
Penalty for Failure to Pay (See instructions)...............................................................
Penalty for Failure to File (See instructions)...............................................................
Total Additions (Sum of Lines 16, 17 & 18).............................................................
Total Due (Line 12 minus Line 15, plus Line 19) Make check payable to State of New Hampshire......................
Enclose, but do not staple or tape, your payment with the return.
Tax Exempt Meals & Rentals Receipts ...............................................................
20
21
19
18
17
16
15
14
13
11
12
10
9
8
7
6
5
4
3
2
1
.09
.0826
.09
.0826
DEDUCTIONS AND ADDITIONS
(See 3% commission eligibility requirement in General Instructions)
Due on the 15th day of 
the month following the 
close of the tax period.
X
STOP
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NEW HAMPSHIRE DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE ADMINISTRATION
MEALS & RENTALS TAX RETURN
LINE-BY-LINE INSTRUCTIONS
Meals & Rental Operators may file electronically on the Department's
website at www.nh.gov/revenue. 
If you have questions, call (603) 271-2191.
ENTER your business name on the line provided.
ENTER your six (6) digit Meals & Rentals Tax license number in the 
block.
ENTER the taxable period. Check the appropriate box to indicate if 
this return is amended or final. If final, indicate reason and last day of 
business.
Receipts from Meals & Beverages
LINE 1 Enter the net receipts/net sales for the period for items sold if 
the tax is not included in the price of the item sold.
LINE 2 Multiply Line 1 x .09 and Enter on Line 2.
LINE 3 Enter the gross receipts/gross sales for the period for items if 
the tax is included in the price of the item sold.
LINE 4 Multiply Line 3 x .0826 and Enter on Line 4.
LINE 5 Enter the TOTAL MEALS TAX, Line 2 plus Line 4. Round to 
the nearest dollar and ENTER WHOLE DOLLARS ONLY.
Receipts from Rentals - See RSA 78-A:3, III for a list of taxable 
accommodations.
LINE 6 Enter the total room rental receipts minus any tax-exempt 
amount described on Line 21. Effective 7/1/2009, campsites are 
included as taxable rentals.
LINE 7 Enter permanent resident receipts. (Receipts received from 
occupants having greater than 185 days of continuous occupancy are 
not subject to the Meals & Rentals Tax.)
LINE 8 Enter the taxable room rental receipts, Line 6 minus Line 7.
LINE 9 Enter the TOTAL ROOM RENTAL TAX. Check the rate which 
applies. Line 8 x rate, .09 if tax excluded or .0826 if tax included. 
Round to the nearest dollar and ENTER WHOLE DOLLARS ONLY.
LINE 10 Enter the total motor vehicle rental receipts.
LINE 11 Enter the TOTAL MOTOR VEHICLE RENTAL TAX. Check 
the rate which applies. Line 10 x rate, .09 if tax excluded or .0826 if tax 
included. Round to the nearest dollar and ENTER WHOLE DOLLARS 
ONLY.
LINE 12 Enter the total amount of tax, by adding Line 5 plus Line 9 
plus Line 11 to calculate the total amount of the tax.
NOTE: Operators who substantially understate their tax on Line 12 may 
be assessed a penalty by the Department in the amount of 25% of any 
underpayment of the tax. A substantial understatement is one which 
exceeds the greater of 10% of the amount of tax (Line 12) or $5,000.
Deductions and Additions
Commission of 3% may be taken by operators who timely file in
accordance with RSA 78-A:8. Commission MAY NOT be deducted 
by an operator not meeting the requirements of RSA 78-A:7, III. (See 
eligibility requirements for 3% commission and paper returns in General 
Instructions of the Meals & Rentals Tax Booklet.)
Deductions:
LINE 13 Multiply Line 12 x .03 and Enter total on Line 13.
LINE 14 Enter payments made in advance of the due date for the 
current tax period or for any Credit Memo you have received from 
the Department.
LINE 15 Enter total deductions, Line 13 plus Line 14.
LINE 16 INTEREST: Interest is calculated on the balance of tax due 
from the original due date to the date paid. Tax due x number of days 
from due date to date tax was paid x daily rate decimal equivalent of 
0.000192 for 2009. 
LINE 17 FAILURE TO PAY: Apenalty equal to 10% of any nonpayment 
or underpayment of taxes shall be imposed if the taxpayer fails to pay 
when due. If the failure to pay is due to fraud, the penalty shall be 50% 
of the amount of the nonpayment or underpayment.
LINE 18 FAILURE TO FILE: A taxpayer failing to timely file a complete 
return will be subject to a penalty equal to 5% of the tax due (on Line 
12) or $10, whichever is greater, for each month or part thereof, that 
the return remains unfiled. The total amount of this penalty shall not 
exceed 25% of the balance of tax due (of Line 12) or $50, whichever is 
greater. Calculate this penalty starting from the original due date of the 
return until the date a complete return has been filed.
LINE 19 Enter the total of Lines 16 through 18 to calculate the total 
additions to tax.
LINE 20 Enter the total due (Line 12 minus Line 15 plus Line 19).
LINE 21 Enter tax exempt Meals & Rentals receipts.
SIGNATURES
The return must be signed in ink and dated by the taxpayer. If the return 
was completed by a paid preparer, then the preparer must also sign 
in ink and date the return. The preparer must also enter their federal 
employer identification number or federal preparer tax identification
number and complete address.
DP-14
Instructions
9/2009
FORM
M&R
Instructions

New Hampshire

official business by federal government employees
On Line 21 enter the total Meals and Rentals receipts that are exempt from tax. No blanket Meals & Rentals Tax exemption exists for non-profit organizations. However, there are limited exemptions for the following: 
a. Meals & Rentals charges incurred in the course of official business by federal government employees, New Hampshire State , County or Municipal employees. The operator must receive a purchase order from the governmental entity and payment from the government's treasurer. 
b. Persons possessing diplomatic tax exempt cards issued by the US Department of State. 
c. Rents incurred as the result of the partial or complete destruction of a person's permanent residence. 
d. Meals paid for with food stamps/coupons. 
e. Some schools and students. 
If you have any questions about tax-exempt sales, please call the Department for clarification at (603) 271-2191. The State of New Hampshire does not issue Meals & Rentals Tax exempt certificates.
No organizaton, including non-profit organizations, are exempt from the 
Meals and Rentals Tax. However, there are limited exemptions for the 
following:
a. Meals and Rentals charges incurred in the course of official
business by federal government employees, New Hampshire
state, county or municipal employees. The operator must receive
a purchase order from the governmental entity and payment from
the government's treasurer or through a government authorized 
credit card.
b. Persons possessing diplomatic tax exempt cards issued by the
US Department of State.
c. Rents incurred as the result of the partial or complete
destruction of a person's permanent residence.
d. Meals paid for with food stamps/coupons.
e. Some schools and students.
If you have any questions about tax exempt sales, please call the
Department at (603) 271-2191. The State of New Hampshire does not issue Meals & Rentals Tax exempt certificates.
